TC02. Durability & Analysis

This committee is concerned with both chemical durability and analysis and is committed to the pursuit of analytical excellence through the standardization and harmonization of analytical methodology throughout the glass and associated industries. TC02 committee members continue to actively promote and participate in a wide range of proficiency testing schemes and undertake investigations to explain complex differences in measurement response by different analytical procedures. In 2009 they produced a valuable reference work entitled 'Handbook of Recommended Analytical Methods'. This can be purchased from the DGG.

back to top

Main aims and planned activities


TC02 continues to provide analytical solutions to complex issues affecting the glass industry through the development of standard methods of analysis and the production of certified reference materials for analytical calibration supported by extensive round robin/proficiency testing schemes.

The Committee actively supports other TC work programs upon request and has well established (and respected) links with external Organizations working across the chemical analysis arena - including The Society of Glass Technology, Bureau of Analyzed Samples, BAM, DGG, BSI.


Autumn meeting in Sheffield, UK.

Proficiency tests on the determination of B2O3 in fibre glasses.

Proficiency test on hydrolytic resistance testing of glass containers acc. to ISO 4802-1.

Collaboration with German Society of Glass Technology DGG: Round Robin test on trace analysis of sand.

Completion of viscosity proficiency testing work to support glass wool manufacture (St Gobain ISOVER work package).

Poster at the Congress in Shanghai.


Certification of new CRM's::

  • Resistance of technical glass to boiling acid (DIN 12116)
  • Hydrolytic Resistance of technical glass at 98°C (ISO 719)
  • Resistance of technical glass to boiling alkaline solution (ISO 695)
  • Hydrolytic Resistance of glass containers, acc. to USP <660>, grains test
  • Participation in DGG project: Certification of a soda lime silicate glass for chemical composition and physical parameters (viscosity, annealing point, transformation temperature, CTE

Method development

  • Analysis of the chemical composition filter dust
  • Validation of the application of ICP-MS or ICP-OES for arsenic determination in Ph. Eur. 3.2.1, hydrolytic resistance of glass containers

Proficiency Tests

  • Determination of Cl in technical glass
  • Determination of low level F in technical glass


Committee Members: back to top

Abensour, Sylvie
Andrieux, Pauline
Brochot, Dominique Committee Position: Emeritus
Carpentier, Jean Marc
Clark, John
Corumluoglu, Orhan Committee Position: Emeritus
Eiden, Ralf Committee Position: Chair
Gignoux, Vincent
Guadagnino, Emanuel Committee Position: Emeritus
Kanno, Naoki
Leese, Sam
Meignen, Vincent
Meysner, Amy Committee Position: Secretary
Peggy, Georges-Diraison Committee Position: Vice Chair
Pradeau, Philippe
Recknagel, Sebastian
Scarpa, Martina
Strubel, Christine
Sunberg, Peter
Tapasa, Kanit
Yorur, Aysegul

Committee Contact Details: back to top

TC02. Durability & Analysis
Schott AG, Germany

Email TC02. Durability & Analysis Using The Form Below.


Latest ICG News

New e-book on GCs
New e-book on GCs
ICG's TC07 create a new reference volume
More >
2017 Montpellier Summer School
2017 Montpellier Summer School
9th School attracts more attendees than ever
More >
ICAGST-2017 Report
ICAGST-2017 Report
CGCRI run conference in Kolkata and a Student Tutorial with ICG.
More >
Sad News
Ex ICG President Bill Prindle
More >
ICG News
ICG News
Presidential update and greetings
More >

Latest Other News

Phoenix Award
James Callaghan latest awardee
More >
Green Buildings
Conference in Jaipur
More >
NEG Endowed chair
At Zhejiang University, China
More >
Vitrum 2017
Italy's International Trade Fair
More >
GPD Chairman honored
Jorma Vitkala receives award at 25th GPD meeting
More >
Committee Login